Skip to main content

Ship Clouds above the Pacific Ocean

Credits
NASA/GSFC; Link: http://rapidfire.sci.gsfc.nasa.gov

This impressive image shows the legacies of ships in the atmosphere. The white traces of clouds have an effect on the natural clouds: Particles of exhaust gas (aerosols) increase the reflectivity of the clouds which means they can absorb more water. This leads to a reduced precipitation. Even though the use of fossil fuels of ships only accounts for a relatively small part of the changing atmosphere, this image gives an idea which impacts human actions can have on nature.

 

Location: Pacific Ocean
Picture taken on July 3, 2010
Sensor: Aqua MODIS

Oil Spill in the Gulf of Mexico

Credits
NASA/GSFC; Link: http://rapidfire.sci.gsfc.nasa.gov

On April 20, 2010 the oil drilling rig “Deepwater Horizon” leased by BP exploded in the Gulf of Mexico. This accident resulted in one of the most devastating natural disasters of our time: Over months, more than several hundred millions of litres of oil streamed into the sea. As the catastrophe unfolded, the oil also reached the Mississippi Delta. There is reason to believe that a part of the spill reached the world-spanning sea currents as well and thus has been spreading globally ever since.

Underwater Hill

Credits
NASA/GSFC (Jeff Schmaltz); Link: http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov

The water off the coast of the Bahamas shimmers in light blue since it is partly only less than ten metres deep. Therefore, it might be regarded as an extension of the islands below the surface of the water. Since the underwater hill of the Great Bahama Bank steeply descends as deep as 400 metres, this is marked in the satellite image by a strong colour change to dark blue. The white structures above the islands indicate convective clouds: The land areas of the islands force the moist air to rise and to condense in the cold air aloft.

 

Hurricane Igor

Credits
NASA/GSFC; Link: http://rapidfire.sci.gsfc.nasa.gov

Hurricane Igor, one of the strongest hurricanes in 2010, developed in September above the Cape Verde Islands. Tropical cyclones with this basis are westbound across the Atlantic Ocean and can be particularly strong as they absorb a lot of warm water on their long way across the ocean, thus causing a positive feedback (self-reinforcement). With a maximum wind velocity of 250 km/h, Igor reached category 4 status, indicating the possibility of devastating destructions. Unfortunately, this was the case on September 20 and 21, 2010 when Igor hit Newfoundland.

Aqua MODIS

Schiffswolken über dem Pazifik

Dieses Bild zeigt eindrucksvoll die Hinterlassenschaften von Schiffen in der Atmosphäre. Die weißen Wolkenspuren verändern die natürlichen Wolken: Abgaspartikel (Aerosole) verstärken die Reflektivität der Wolken, lassen sie dadurch mehr Wasser aufnehmen und verringern so die Niederschläge aus den Wolken. Obwohl Schiffe einen eher geringen Anteil an der Veränderung der Atmosphäre durch die Nutzung fossiler Brennstoffe haben, verdeutlicht dieses Beispiel die Auswirkungen des menschlichen Handelns auf die Umwelt.

 

Ort: Pazifik

Aufnahmedatum: 3.7.2010

Bild: 
Schiffswolken über dem Pazifik
Credits: 
NASA/GSFC; Link: http://rapidfire.sci.gsfc.nasa.gov

Ölpest im Golf von Mexiko

Am 20. April 2010 explodierte die von BP gepachtete Ölplattform "Deepwater Horizon" im Golf von Mexiko. Der Unfall hatte eine der schwersten Umweltkatastrophen unserer Zeit zur Folge: Über Monate strömten mehrere Hundertmillionen Liter Erdöl ungehindert ins Meer. Das Öl verschmutzte nicht nur den Golf von Mexiko nachhaltig, sondern erreichte auch das Delta des Mississippi. Es wird vermutet, dass Anteile des Öls in die weltumspannenden Meeresströmungen gelangten und sich seither global verteilen.

Bild: 
Ölpest im Golf von Mexiko
Credits: 
NASA/GSFC; Link: http://rapidfire.sci.gsfc.nasa.gov

Unterwasserhügel

Die hellblau schillernde Wasserfläche vor den Bahamas verdankt ihre Farbe der geringen Meerestiefe von teilweise weniger als 10 Metern. Sie stellt sozusagen die Erweiterung der Inseln unter der Wasseroberfläche dar. Der steile Abfall des Unterwasserhügels der Great Bahama Bank in große Tiefen (bis zu 400 Meter) ist durch die markante Farbänderung in tiefes dunkelblau gekennzeichnet. Die weißen Strukturen über den Inseln zeigen konvektive Wolken an: Feuchte Meeresluft wird durch die Landfläche der Inseln zum Aufsteigen gezwungen und kondensiert in der kalten Höhenluft aus.

Bild: 
Unterwasserhügel
Credits: 
NASA/GSFC (Jeff Schmaltz); Link: http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov

Hurricane Igor

Hurricane Igor, einer der stärksten Hurricanes im Jahr 2010, entwickelte sich im September über den Kapverdischen Inseln. Tropische Zyklone, die hier ihren Ausgangspunkt nehmen, wandern in Richtung Westen über den Atlantik und können besonders stark werden, weil sie auf dem weiten Weg über das Meer sehr viel warmes Wasser aufnehmen und so eine positive Rückkopplung (Selbstverstärkung) stattfindet. Mit einer maximalen Windgeschwindigkeit von 250 Km/h wurde Igor als Hurricane der Kategorie 4 eingestuft, in der katastrophale Zerstörungen an Land möglich sind. Dies war am 20.

Bild: 
Hurricane Igor
Credits: 
NASA/GSFC; Link: http://rapidfire.sci.gsfc.nasa.gov
Inhalt abgleichen